Discussions

Separating the Book From the Artist-A Discussion

For once, I actually don’t know how to put words into this discussion especially with what’s been concerning about J.K Rowling and her TERFNESS. I talked a little bit about how much Harry Potter affected my life and I owe my reading with these books, because these were my first books that I was actively reading back to back and something I was very comfortable to read.

I was the one kid in the classroom, who was always reading Harry Potter because that world meant so much to me. I loved the idea of a magic school with wands, with friendship. I spent hours of reading Harry Potter fanfic, and I still read it-just not as much anymore. I even went so far to have a birthday theme of Harry Potter (This was before I was even on Twitter).

But now that I have been active on Twitter, I saw how the bigotry and how much J.K Rowling was not ideal and spreads her bullshit around especially when it comes to Trans people.

I don’t follow her on Twitter. I never have, nor will I ever especially because she is not the most safest person to follow. Her TERFNESS is everywhere on her social media, and honestly it hurts. Trans-men are men, trans-woman are woman it’s simple as that.

While it’s been brought up multiple times, that she is a TERF-the question still remains on whether or not, we should separate the art from the artist. And my opinion, you really can’t. It’s impossible because this world was created by the artist, the problematic things in it still remain. You can’t ignore it.

The bigotry in Harry Potter is everywhere if you look closely enough. It’s impossible to separate the art from the artist, but reclaiming it is probably more ideal to where everyone including genderqueer, trans people, queer folks and BIPOC can be included and not as the last thought, while acknowledging the problematic things.

It’s okay to like a problematic fave, but you have to acknowledge the faults and not ignore it. It’s okay to burn the books and not buy any merchandise. It’s also okay to silently love it. There are endless possibilities that doesn’t include just ignoring Harry Potter especially if it’s been there the hole life, through good and bad times.

Untitled design (1)

What are your thoughts on this matter? Did you grow up with Harry Potter? How do you feel about separating the art from the artist? Tell me in the comments!

About the Blogger:

download20200400145714

Lori is an advocate for all things diverse to help those who are in the margins. She loves reading, but music holds a dear place in her heart. She is a teenager in high school, a feminist, and is in the LGBTQ+ community. Uses she/her or they/them pronouns 🌈

You can find me on: Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Separating the Book From the Artist-A Discussion”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.