Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: The Knockout by S.A Patel

The Knockout by S.A Patel Synopsis: A rising star in Muay Thai figures out what (and who) is worth fighting for in this #ownvoices YA debut full of heart. If seventeen-year-old Kareena Thakkar is going to alienate herself from the entire Indian community, she might as well do it gloriously. She’s landed the chance of… Continue reading Book Review: The Knockout by S.A Patel

Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi Synopsis: The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to… Continue reading Book Review: War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

Monthly Wrap Up, Uncategorized

June 2020 Monthly Wrap-Up

BLM Movement: Sign petitionsDonate to funds NOT Change.orgText or CallProtest if you're able tooTalk to your family members about Black Lives Matter, why they shouldStuff That Happened: My own parents called me racist because I told them I hate the police when talking about BLM. It does hurt quite a bit, and it's something I could never forgive… Continue reading June 2020 Monthly Wrap-Up

Uncategorized, WWW

WWW Wednesday: Jul. 1, 2020

WWW Wednesday is hosted over at Taking on a World of Words and just involves answering the 3 Ws!What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading?What do you think you’ll read next?What are you currently reading?Bonds of BrassCrooked KingdomThe Dragon RepublicWicked As You WishWhat did you recently finish reading?Full DisclosureYou Should See Me In… Continue reading WWW Wednesday: Jul. 1, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday, Uncategorized

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Forest of Stolen Girls by June Hur

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. In this weekly post people share a book that they’re excited about being released. After her father vanishes while investigating the disappearance of 13 young women, a teen returns to her secretive hometown to pick up… Continue reading Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Forest of Stolen Girls by June Hur

Top Ten Tuesdays, Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2020

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together. This week's topic is Most Anticipated Releases for the Second… Continue reading Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of 2020

Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: Cinderella Is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

Cinderella Is Dead by Kalynn Bayron Synopsis: "Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of A Curse So Dark and Lonely. It's 200… Continue reading Book Review: Cinderella Is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

Book Reviews

Book Review: Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo Synopsis: In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives. Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father… Continue reading Book Review: Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

Booksish, Uncategorized

My Favorite Books So Far of 2020

It's like the end of June, but ehh whatever. I kinda wanted to write a post with all my favorite books so far of 2020, because I have quite a bit of favorite books. Granted, some of them are rereads-but ehh, I don't talk about some of these books as much. Add to Goodreads I'm… Continue reading My Favorite Books So Far of 2020

Discussions, Uncategorized

My Anticipated Releases of July 2020

Can you all believe it's nearly July? I can't especially with all these new releases that I'm so excited about! Add to GoodreadsThe fourth novel from the phenomenally talented Alice Oseman – one of the most authentic and talked-about voices in contemporary YA.It was all sinking in. I’d never had a crush on anyone. No boys,… Continue reading My Anticipated Releases of July 2020