Subtle Asian Book Club, Uncategorized

5 Reasons On Why You Should Read The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo/Subtle Asian Book Club April 2020 BOTM

I wanted to do something different for this month’s BOTM for Subtle Asian Book Club. It’s also a book club I really love and participate, despite being in another but I seem to forget. If you don’t know what Subtle Asian Book Club is you can find more information on Tiffany’s and Alexandra’s blogs. You can also see my review for this book. I was extremely lucky that I happened to have a copy on hand before my library closed.

35791907

Screen-Shot-2017-07-05-at-9.34.34-PM

From the author of I Believe in a Thing Called Love, a laugh-out-loud story of love, new friendships, and one unique food truck.

Clara Shin lives for pranks and disruption. When she takes one joke too far, her dad sentences her to a summer working on his food truck, the KoBra, alongside her uptight classmate Rose Carver. Not the carefree summer Clara had imagined. But maybe Rose isn’t so bad. Maybe the boy named Hamlet (yes, Hamlet) crushing on her is pretty cute. Maybe Clara actually feels invested in her dad’s business. What if taking this summer seriously means that Clara has to leave her old self behind?

With Maurene Goo’s signature warmth and humor, The Way You Make Me Feel is a relatable story of falling in love and finding yourself in the places you’d never thought to look.

TW: ableism, suicide joke, racism, slurs, gendered slurs, slavery mention, blood, physical injury, mental illness (anxiety), underage drinking

Untitled design (1)

5 Reasons To Read The Way You Make Me Feel:

1) Friendship

Friendship is huge in this book and I loved how Clara’s and Rose’s friendship started, and I find that really important. There quite a lot of scenes where the friendship is really meaningful and Clara realizing that they spent a lot of years fighting for nothing.

2) Food

OMG, the food in this book just sounded so delicious. There’s a mix of Korean and Brazilian food  that is mentioned along with other types of Asian food mention, and it just sounds so good. It’s also really mouthwatering!

3) POC

There’s a lot of POC in this book such as Clara being a Korean-Brazilian American, and her parents are Korean Brazilian. Rose is a Black girl and Hamlet is Chinese. There’s also a mix of Latinx characters in this book and I love how there’s so much POC in this book, and how it doesn’t seem to be stereotyped so that’s a huge plus!

4) No Tiger Parents

Asian Stories seem to have the stereotype of having “Tiger Parents”, but this book doesn’t follow that type of storyline which is really refreshing. Clara’s mom is mostly absent and traveling, and Clara’s dad let’s her get away with stuff, and doesn’t often parent her.

5) Romance

The romance is absolutely adorable! I had my doubts especially since it kinda seems a little insta-lovey than again don’t listen to someone who has no idea how people get together and how people fall in love. Hamlet is just a sweetheart all around, he even brings her flowers to the first date and is so patient with Clara.

Untitled design (1)

Subtle Asian Book Club May 2020 BOTM:

39828159. sy475

Screen-Shot-2017-07-05-at-9.34.34-PM

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Kasie West, I Love You So Mochi is a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel from accomplished author Sarah Kuhn.
“As sweet and satisfying as actual mochi… a tender love story wrapped up in food, fashion, and family. I gobbled it up.” — Maurene Goo, author of The Way You Make Me Feel

Kimi Nakamura loves a good fashion statement.

She’s obsessed with transforming everyday ephemera into Kimi Originals: bold outfits that make her and her friends feel like the Ultimate versions of themselves. But her mother disapproves, and when they get into an explosive fight, Kimi’s entire future seems on the verge of falling apart. So when a surprise letter comes in the mail from Kimi’s estranged grandparents, inviting her to Kyoto for spring break, she seizes the opportunity to get away from the disaster of her life.

When she arrives in Japan, she’s met with a culture both familiar and completely foreign to her. She loses herself in the city’s outdoor markets, art installations, and cherry blossom festival — and meets Akira, a cute aspiring med student who moonlights as a costumed mochi mascot. And what begins as a trip to escape her problems quickly becomes a way for Kimi to learn more about the mother she left behind, and to figure out where her own heart lies.

In I Love You So Mochi, author Sarah Kuhn has penned a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel that will make you squee at the cute, cringe at the awkward, and show that sometimes you have to lose yourself in something you love to find your Ultimate self.

Unfortunately, I was not that lucky to have a copy before hand, but I could get an audiobook so let’s just say that will be an interesting experience.

Untitled design (1)

Are you participating in Subtle Asian Book Club? Have you read any of these books? Will you be joining May’s BOTM I Love You So Mochi?  Tell me in the comments!

About the Blogger:

download20200400145714

Lori is an advocate for all things diverse to help those who are in the margins. She loves reading, but music holds a dear place in her heart. She is a teenager in high school, a feminist, and is in the LGBTQ+ community. Uses she/her or they/them pronouns 🌈

You can find me on: Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads

 

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons On Why You Should Read The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo/Subtle Asian Book Club April 2020 BOTM”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.